Is Your Pickle a Microphone?

Standard

All of us who have a toddler (or have had a toddler) know that these little creatures are by far the most creative little people that walk the planet. One day several weeks ago I walked into the kitchen to see my daughter singing loud and proud into the pickle from her lunch. As absurd as it was that she looked at the little green thing on her plate and thought, “hmmmmm…I should sing into this” it was perhaps even more absurd that I actually asked her, “is your pickle a microphone?” She looked at me perplexed like it was such a ridiculous question and said, “yes” and kept on singing.

So over the last couple of weeks I’ve collected as many of these moments as I could where she is using an item for something other than its intended use. There are so many that I couldn’t capture (like when she used the paper plate package as a steering wheel to make the shopping cart her own race car) as well as those that I refused to capture (like when she told me my booby space makes a good sippy cup holder). But here are a few nuggets for you to enjoy. Creativity at its finest, toddler-style.

THIS BUMBO MAKES A GREAT HAT (Bonus for also wearing a headband as a necklace)

20130417-073107.jpg

THIS DIAPER GENIE BAG IS A GREAT PLACE FOR MY BABY TO MEET HER UNTIMELY DEATH

20130417-073231.jpg

THIS SQUIRT BOTTLE IS A SUPER FUN DRINKING FOUNTAIN

20130417-073336.jpg

THIS GREEN ONION IS A CHINESE FINGER TRAP

20130417-073515.jpg

THIS JELLYFISH MAKES A GREAT CLEANING SPONGE (Note: I did not complain because she washed the entire tub with it)

20130417-073709.jpg

MY BABY SISTER’S PACK N PLAY MAKES A GOOD FORT

20130417-074057.jpg

6 responses »

  1. My guys are constantly making their trains fly through the air to support the flying firetruck of the other brother. Love the imagination. Nothing at this age is impossible!

    • With 4 girls I’m sadly missing out on the train & firetruck imagination stuff. My toddler loves dragons so that’s about as close to boy stuff as I’m getting so far. I’ll take it.

  2. I love it 🙂 The baby doll in the diaper genie bag is my favourite – just looks so comical haha. The Little Mister uses almost anything he has on hand as a phone…don’t know where he gets that from…

    • I know. I’m a little jealous of the imagination actually. Yesterday she was feeding rocks into a small hole in the yard because the baby dragons that live in there were hungry. Love it!

Leave a Reply

