Talking Like a Toddler

Standard
Talking Like a Toddler

I was out sweeping my front patio this morning and saw a gorgeous lizard. We live next to the open desert so he was big and bright and beautiful. I said out loud to him “Good morning Mr. Dragon.” Then I immediately wondered 3 things:

1. Why am I talking out loud to a lizard?
2. Why am I calling him a Dragon?
3. Why did I find the need to address him as Mister?

All of these can be easily explained…I have a toddler. She LOVES dragons. and the first time she saw a lizard on our street she screamed in delight knowing that baby dragons live near us. It’s quite adorable so I’ve never corrected her.

This made me think of all of the other things I say incorrectly in order to communicate with a 2-1/2 year old.

Like calling cereal “Kiempo”. As soon as she could talk she started calling cereal Kiempo. I have no idea why. What’s funny is instead of correcting her, on mornings where I serve her cereal for breakfast I actually ask “What kind of Kiempo do you want this morning?”

She also refers to Einstein Bagels as the “Oh My God”. Now this one is my fault. We live in the suburbs of phoenix and there are very few restaurant choices in the neighborhood. When I saw they were opening the Einstein’s last month I yelled, “Oh my god! Oh my god!” She remembered that and now when I want to go there I actually say “You want to go to oh my god for a bagel?”

These are just a few examples. I’ve realized that I pretty much talk like a lunatic all day long.

What strange toddler words have you incorporated into your everyday language? I would love to hear.

20130523-093052.jpgb

Image credit: greglasley.net

18 responses »

  1. Flip bops!! My son calls flip flops flip bops. So, that’s what we call them! It started out as bop bops. Oh and “I you” for I love you. He never quiet got the “love” in there so we would just say “I you”. Now he’s got the love in there and come out “I ove you”.

  2. My son is also 2 and a half and speaks very well. We insist on calling certain things by the names he gave them when he was one – bhure for raisins, dao for his sippy cup. One current toddler word is “other bar” for granola bar. He heard it as “another bar.”

  3. I don’t have any kids of my own, but I have a sister who is 12 years younger than me. When I was in high school, she would sandwiches “swamiches” and for years, that’s what we all called them. I was so sad when she started saying it right. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ She also had trouble with the letter “v” and called volleyball “ballyball,” which we also found ourselves saying from time to time. Lol. Good memories.

  4. My sister and I called flip flops “pinky toes” since we didn’t know what they were called way back in the stone age. I think back then they were called “thongs” but we all know what that now means. Our brother called water “Lort-lee” since that was the sound it made when poured from a pitcher.

  5. Toddler talk is so cute! My favorite is when my 2-year- old says, “Mommy, I hold you” when he wants to be held. Of course he is HUGE for age so very soon he may actually have to be the one holding me! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Right now we’re going through an annoying phase where my son (18 months) points at everything and just says, “Baw”. He knows that’s not what they’re called and he’s being lazy haha. He calls pictures “kickas” and he says, “Hey-o” instead of hello. He knows how to sass me already, though. I found him in his playroom sitting in an almighty mess. He shrugged at me all innocently and said, “Who did dis?”
    When he had conjunctivitis, he saw the eye drops in my hand and ran away yelling, “Aw ma gaw” repeatedly (as in “Oh my god”).
    We do tend to imitate him a lot – toddler talk is hilarious and I can’t wait ’til he has more words!!

  7. The other day our daughter was talking about a friend being sick and needing a blanket and pillow so he could rest, and medicine for his runny nose and how they took his tea chipper. Clear as day she is telling this story and she ends with the two words “tea chipper”. After thinking about it for a minute I figured out that she meant temperature; they took the boys temperature because he was feverish. My husband and I could not stop laughing.

Leave a Reply

