How Stumpy and Spike Came to Live at My House

Standard

We just became the proud parents of two baby bearded dragons (temporarily named Stumpy and Spike). This choice in pets was NOT my idea. My husband had a dragon in college and loved him and has always wanted to get another one. This added to the fact that my toddler is obsessed with all things dragon (the fairy tale, fire-breathing kind) was all it took to stop into the local Petsmart and become new parents, again.

When I saw them I thought they were pretty cute little babies and when I looked at my husband’s face I knew we wouldn’t leave without one. But after he picked out the one he wanted we saw that another one had 1/2 its tail missing. Sadly a bigger dragon had chomped his tail and he had to have it partially amputated. We knew no one would adopt him so we also brought home this “special needs” dragon (Stumpy).

Pre-Dragons my daily routine included many tasks that kept me wildly busy. I have a now-mobile infant that likes to constantly move, eat & poop. I have an extremely spirited toddler who likes to touch everything in sight, leave trails of crumbs and spills in her path and wants what she wants when she wants it. And then there are the 2 pre-teens which are pretty self-sufficient but are not in short supply of drama. So, I wasn’t necessarily looking for more things to do. But here I am…..

1. Dipping live crickets in a special blend of calcium and other unknown stuff and staring at the dragons for the better part of a 1/2 hour each morning to make sure they actually eat them and that Spike isn’t getting them all.

2. Spending another 1/2 hour a day as an amateur dragon sociologist studying their behavior. I’m always wondering why Spike is doing this and Stumpy is doing that. I feel oddly over-protective of Stumpy because of what he’s been through. My desire for the little ones in this house to get along clearly extends past the human variety.

3. Cleaning up dragon poo. (I seriously didn’t need to clean up anyone else’s poop…I was at my quota already). I highly doubt Calisi has to clean up her dragons’ crap.

4. Gently mysting the dragons with water 2x per day. Ya’ know, because the Dean Dragon Day Spa is the place to be if you are a dragon who wants to get pampered.

So basically, these little dragon babies have added more to my plate than I thought. But I am astonished at how much I can love these little boogers. They really have their own personalities and are fun to watch. They apparently live an average of 8 to 10 years so let’s see how I feel in a few years. But for now, I welcome them to the family.

20130716-094612.jpg

7 responses »

  1. They are adorable! We have two geckos and an anolis at home. I picked the anolis because he was missing a leg (you could still see the healing wound when I went to get him). The pet shop employee was flabbergasted that I wanted that one in particular and she gave me a rebate on the price because he was “damaged”! I totally would have gone for Stumpy too ;).

    • I had to look up anolis. So cute. It’s funny that you got a discount…we did too. I can’t imagine someone saying I’m worth 20% less because I was “damaged”. We had to have him and love him though. (At least I think it’s a him.) lol.

  2. Pingback: I got another Liebster Award (or two)! | mummyshymz

Leave a Reply

